The Old House Goldrush Guesthouse
Originally built in the mid 1800s by a Mexican packer named Valenzuela, the old house was partially completed before he moved to Dog Creek, as he felt the Gold Rush was passing him by. He was responsible for much of the building in the Dog Creek settlement. He returned and completed the old house in approximately 1865. It was a Road House for many years after the Gold Rush for the freight haulers who wagon trained their freight from Ashcroft to points north, for example, the Gang Ranch. It was lived in by many families over the next 100 years and was found by the Canuel family in 1992 in a state of collapse. The Canuel family disassembled the entire structure, moved it back from the road, and placed it on a proper foundation. It was reconstructed log by log with new logs for the first three rounds (as the others were rotten) and stands as the beautiful old home you see today.
Archived in November, 2010
Comments & Feedback
All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. OldHouses.com is not responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.