OldHouses.com logo

Listing No. 5322

Prev   # 21 of 21

of the list
Advanced Search

Back to List

New Search

From The Archives

c. 1820 Stone Home

Historic Waterford Area
Lovettsville, Virginia

Foxstone: A Beautiful Quaker-Built Stone Home

Historic Foxstone
Historic Foxstone
A Beautiful Quaker-Built Stone Home on Six Picturesque Acres Just North of the Historic Village of
A Beautiful Quaker-Built Stone Home on Six Picturesque Acres
Just North of the Historic Village of Waterford, Virginia. Foxstone is situated on 6 picturesque acres along Milltown Road (a Virginia Scenic Byway) and was eligible for the Loudoun County Open Space Scenic Resource Protection Program. This 19th century (circa 1820) Quaker-Built Stone Home with a late 19th Century South Wing, Spring House, Corn Crib, Barn (with power and water), Garden Shed and Smoke House is conveniently located just north of the Historic Village of Waterford and five minutes from the town of Lovettsville and all its amenities.
Scroll down for more information
A Carefully Restored Colonial Home
A Carefully Restored Colonial Home
Features random width original pine floor, working fireplace with original mantle & brick hearth, original windows with handblown glass, two-foot window sills and two sets of double doors
Late 19th Century Addition
Late 19th Century Addition
Bay window overlooks front yard, original random width pine flooring, new Energy Star Low E windows, working fireplace with slate hearth & wood stove insert, French door opens to new brick stairs leading to flagstone patio and double French doors lead to back yard
Raised Roofline Offers Amazing Views
Raised Roofline Offers Amazing Views
Roofline was raised and modified (to include 3 eastern dormers) in 1992 to create a liveable space from the attic: could be amazing office and recreation room! Stairs have hand forged nails and show the individually owned handtools of those who worked on them (Each plane shows different marks). Western wall of windows – all new Energy Star Low E windows, two new Energy Star Low E skylights, recessed lighting and landing shows exposed beam & pegs plus exposed stone.
Bedrooms 3
Full Baths 2
Heated Sq. Ft. 3,427
Unheated Sq. Ft. 375
Stories 3
Acres 6.0

Features.

  • Barn with Utilities
  • Bay Window
  • Built-In Bookcases
  • Chair Railing
  • Crown Molding
  • Energy Star Windows
  • Fenced Perimeter
  • Flagstone Patio
  • French Doors
  • Horse Paddock
  • Low E Skylights
  • Many Outbuildings
  • Nine-Foot + Ceilings
  • Original FP Mantels
  • Original Wood Floors
  • Raised Roofline
  • Zoned HVAC

No Contact Information.

This listing is archived and is not for sale.

Contact information is not available for archived listings.

A Beautiful Quaker-Built Stone Home on Six Picturesque Acres Just North of the Historic Village of Waterford, Virginia

Foxstone is situated on 6 picturesque acres along Milltown Road (a Virginia Scenic Byway) and is eligible for the Loudoun County Open Space Scenic Resource Protection Program. This 19th century (circa 1820) Quaker-Built Stone Home with a late 19th Century South Wing, Spring House, Corn Crib, Barn (with power and water), Garden Shed and Smoke House is conveniently located just north of the Historic Village of Waterford and five minutes from the town of Lovettsville and all its amenities. A three bedroom, two full bath stone home, carefully restored, just awaiting your personal touches. All major systems & structures upgraded to include zoned HVAC. Late 19th century addition recovered in Hardiplank and adds large living room, and spacious master suite with His & Hers walk in closets and private bath. Roof line redesigned to add amazing third floor loft/studio/recreation room with eastern and western views. Open acreage, board fenced perimeter and one paddock in place. Room for ring, additional paddocks and larger barn if desired. Several dependencies. A gem!

A Look at Foxstone’s Historical Background

About three miles outside of Waterford, Milltown took its name from the two waterpowered mills that stood within throwing distance of each other on the Catoctin’s largest tributary, know in Colonial Times as Broad Run and later tagged, appropriately enough, Milltown Creek. However, a lot of folks called it Stony Creek. To get to Foxstone, one crosses a concrete bridge over Stony Creek that bears the date “1969”, and sadly, sees no mills. Until the 1980’s if you had glanced to the west of the bridge, you would have seen the skeleton of Farling Ball’s Mill standing on the muddy bank. Ball built that mill back in 1769, and it was the oldest documented mill in Loudoun County. The second mill, which was built and operated by the Hough family, joined the industry with the Ball mill about 200 feet downstream when the 19th century was still young, but threatened no competition. For Ball’s Mill ground corn and made flour, while Hough’s Mill manufactured cloth. This mill, too, came to a sad end…Sheridan’s Raiders set a torch to in November of 1864. Still, its sturdy walls stood well into this century, and each time a block of stone crumbled and fell into the stream, the more the name Stony Creek seemed fitting.

Local lore has it that a Milltown blanket factory down the road changed the pattern of its products according to which way the Civil War was going. The day the mill burned, the blanket patterns must have been swiftly changed from the rebel flag to the stars-and-stripes.

The property once covered hundreds of acres. The large barn just outside the property line to the south was the original barn for the property, and built in the same time period of the house. Milltown Road used to pass much closer to the house until the 1970’s. The original carriage step is still in the front yard, and the road ran just below it. In 1973, when the road was redone, it was moved east to where it is today.

Eugene Scheel – Waterford’s resident historian and famed map maker – referenced Foxstone in two of his books. They are now out of print, but can be seen at the Balch Library in Leesburg. Ownership of the Foxstone property can be traced back to the 1700’s via land grant records.

Interestingly, both Lovettsville and Waterford were considered loyalist towns as the majority voted against secession. There was a heavy Quaker influence in both towns. Waterford was the only southern Quaker town that had a unit that fought with the North in the Civil War.

This 19th century stone home has been carefully restored using
The Department of Interior Guidelines wherever possible.

Exterior Features

• Quaker built stone home with coveted Short Hill Mountain cornerstones
• 4 foot thick original northern wall
• 2 foot thick original eastern and western walls
• Stone professionally repointed 1992
• Southern chimney rebuilt from ground up 2008
• Northern chimney rebuilt from stone up 2008
• Copper gutters along front of home
• New gutters rear of home 2009
• Roofline redesigned to add 3 Eastern dormers and Western dormer bump out to create liveable attic/loft space 1992
• Hardiplank on Southern wing 2008
• Painted 2008
• New Energy Star Low E windows in addition and attic/loft
• Skylight in Master Suite is Energy Star Low E as well
• Original windows and glass in stone portion of home
• Brick overlay of stone front stoop 2008
• Private Shaded flagstone with stone surround side patio off family room (to include Kentucky Coffee Bean Tree)
• Original Carriage Step in front yard

Dependencies

Stone Springhouse: Short Hill Mountain cornerstones & inscribed corner stone. Spring was diverted to the culvert when VDOT rerouted Milltown Road in 1973

Corn Crib: Property can convey with fence posts stored here – enough for 500 feet of fenceline. Original attic beams available from when roof line was modified, and can convey. These would be gorgeous if exposed in a kitchen addition!

Barn: Has power and water plus Tractor or run in overhang. 2 box stalls inside with side aisle and 2 exterior pony stalls. Stone foundation on center of structure.

New exterior sliding doors 2009

Smokehouse: Stone with metal roof and Firewood storage

Garden Shed: Wonderful storage, Newly painted 2009

Archived in December, 2010

Comments & Feedback

All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. OldHouses.com is not responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.

Listing No. 5322

Prev   # 21 of 21

of the list
Advanced Search

Back to List

New Search

Your Feedback

Help & Support.

Return to Top
Pinterest
[X]