c. 1854 Victorian
Gold Hill, North Carolina 28071
THE SNUGGS-ATKINS HOUSE C 1854
Once in a lifetime opportunity to live in the Historic Village of Gold Hill.
A place that recalls the grandeur of the first gold mining boom town; when the highlights for the prosperous Gold Hill residents included horse drawn carriages, parasols, and Grand Soirees.
Experience year round events, weekly live music, & enjoy the annual Founders Day Parade from the comfort of the large covered front porch. Walk along wooden sidewalks lined with Victorian lamp posts, shop in antique/boutique shops, enjoy locally grown fresh produce & fresh flowers, & dine at the local restaurant.
Scroll down for more information
|Heated Sq. Ft.||1,302|
|Unheated Sq. Ft.||919|
- 1st Floor Bath
- 1st Floor Bedroom
- 1st Floor Laundry Room
- Bonus Room
- Crawl Space
- Dining room
- Laundry Room
- Living room
- Reader's Loft
- Utility Room
- Master bedroom downstairs
- 1 Car Garage
- Fenced Yard
- Storage Building
- Storm Windows
- Ceiling Fans
- 5 Fireplaces
- High Ceilings
- Original wood windows
- Metal Roof
- Wood floors
- Central air
- Septic Tank
- Water Heater - Electric
- High Ceilings
- French doors
- Vintage Hardware
- Vintage Light Fixtures
- 5 Fireplaces w/6th Chimney in Kitchen
- Garage door replaced in 2010
- Insulated ext. walls
- Only attached garage in the village
- Original windows
Historic Snuggs-Atkins House – C. 1854A time of opulence which recalls the grandeur of the first gold mining boom town; when the highlights for the prosperous Gold Hill residents included horse drawn carriages, parasols, and Grand Soirees. Even today you can experience and reminisce about such occasions with weekly live music and year-round events held in the Historic Village of Gold Hill including parades right up to the full-length covered plantation porch. Imagine strolling along the wooden sidewalks, lined with Victorian lamp posts, visiting antique and boutiques shops, dining at a local restaurant, ice cream shop, purchasing fresh flowers and seasonal produce while exploring the rich history amid the 70-acre park.
A unique vestige of the past, this Pre-Civil War residence reflects the pride of several generations of family ownership. Built in the tradition of a by-gone era this 2-story beauty amid 1.32ac in a magnificent English garden setting features high ceilings, original ship-lap walls, crystal, porcelain and jasper knobs, secret doors, multiple fireplaces, sun-drenched rooms, attached garage, and modern systems carefully integrated so as not to detract from the original architectural charm. Approximately Total SF 2221 (+/-), with primary bedroom on the main floor, 3 additional rooms plus a large bonus area upstairs, 919SF no heat/air, closets as typical for age built. Seller had property fully insulated 1 year ago and added several storm windows adding additional insulation.
We have the key (an original skeleton key) to this historic treasure where you can return to a quieter and gentler time, offering a quality of life that only the past can provide.
Find out more about the rich history of Gold Hill, local merchants and weekly and annual events: https://historicgoldhill.org/
Gold Hill Preservation Society: https://ghhps.org/
Gold Hill is located approx. 14 miles southeast of Salisbury, NC on US Hwy 52. An easy hour drive from Charlotte or Greensboro and only 30 minutes from Salisbury, Asheboro, Albemarle & Concord. Educational site and historic tours.
Highly desired East Rowan School district includes Shive Elementary, CC Erwin Middle School and East Rowan High School.
History of Gold Discovery in NC c. 1799The discovery of gold in North Carolina in 1799 boosted the economy of western North Carolina. Gold was first discovered at what is now the Reed Gold Mine State Historic Site about twenty miles from the
present Gold Hill district. Soon thereafter, an effort was made to survey the region for more potential sources of the mineral. A geological survey was made in 1823 which promised the discovery of gold in Rowan County. A year later gold was indeed found.
The gold at Gold Hill was mainly in subsurface veins so the first vertical mine shaft east of the Mississippi River, the Barnhardt shaft at Gold Hill, was constructed in 1842 to access deep gold deposits. The Barnhardt
shaft reached a depth of over 400 feet. Construction on another nearby shaft, the Randolph, was begun soonafter the Barnhardt. The Randolph mine reached a depth of 800 feet and is considered to have been one of the
richest and deepest eastern United States mines. A third, smaller shaft was dug but never reached the depth or prosperity of the Barnhardt or Randolph mines. It is estimated that six million dollars in pure gold (approximately one-third from the Randolph Shaft) was shipped out of Gold Hill and many times more than that lost due to inefficient extraction methods.
The volume of gold mined in Gold Hill and surrounding areas prompted the federal government to build a mint in Charlotte. Additional mining operations discovered quantities of copper and the Union Copper Mine opened near the two largest gold shafts. The operation developed into the largest of the mining operations at Gold Hill and remained active much longer than the gold mining businesses. Attempts to revive the Gold Hill mines persisted throughout the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The attempts took various forms. Attempts to improve extraction and mining methods at Gold Hill were some of the most progressive and technologically advanced in the country, employing the brightest scientists of the day, including Thomas Edison.
Richard Knapp and Brent D. Glass, Gold Mining in North Carolina (1999)
Richard Knapp and Robert M. Topkins, eds., Gold in History, Geology and Culture (2001)
Reed Gold Mine State Historic Site: http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/sections/hs/reed/reed.htm
Gold Hill Mining Company Records
History of the HouseHistory suggests the property was first associated with John C. Snuggs who was the Gold Hill Postmaster from September 1865 until July 1881. Mr. Snuggs also served in the Army as a Private.
The house served as both a post office and residence for Mr. Snuggs. The first floor of the house continued to be used as a post office well into the 20th century and also provided quarters for a shoe shop; the second floor was used for a school.
It was eventually acquired by Dr. B.T. Atkins (1877 - 1940) whose widow Dora Shaver Atkins, lived in it until the mid 1970's. The two-story frame house has undergone various improvements since its construction.
Comments & Feedback
All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. OldHouses.com is not responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.