OldHouses.com logo

Listing No. 31501

Advanced Search
  Next # 1 of 7

Back to List

New Search

Nearest Listings

For Sale

c. 1837 Greek Revival

1965 West Dawson Road
Milford
Milford Charter Township, Michigan

Greek Revival farmhouse on National Register of Historic Homes

Bedrooms 4
Full Baths 2
Heated Sq. Ft. 2,400
Stories 2
Acres 3.0

Features.

  • Furnishings Available
  • 1st Floor Bath
  • 1st Floor Bedroom
  • 1st Floor Laundry Room
  • 2 Car Garage
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • 2nd Staircase
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Wood floors
  • Claw-foot Tub(s)
  • Pocket Doors

Like This Listing?

Contact the Agent directly.

Real Estate One-Milford

Conne Terova photo Conne Terova

Mobile: 248-318-7342
Office: (248) 684-4595 Ext. 400

Tell 'em you saw it on OldHouses.com!

More About This House

A unique opportunity to own a piece of Milford history. The Hubbard-Kesby home is a charming 19th century farmhouse and one of the earliest residences in Milford. Located on three wooded acres, the home sits back from the road and features classic Greek Revival architectural details. A wraparound porch graces the north and west sides of the house. Original wide plank flooring and period details can be seen throughout the home, which has been thoughtfully restored and updated. The first floor includes a large, light-filled living room with a soapstone wood stove, an eat-in kitchen with stainless steel appliances, a custom-built screened-in porch off the kitchen for summer entertaining, dining room, laundry room, a full bath with clawfoot tub, and a bedroom/study. Two separate staircases lead to the second floor with 3 bedrooms and a full bath with shower and soaking tub. The lot includes a 2-car detached garage, perennial beds, a secret garden behind an old stone barn foundation, and a brook at the back of the property. The Huron river and miles of equestrian, hike and bike trails through Kensington metropark are a few steps away. The home is nestled in a peaceful country setting, yet only a couple of miles from the shops and restaurants in the Village of Milford and offers easy access to I-96. Come make your own Milford memories here!

History

Hubbard-Kesby Home
1965 West Dawson Road between North Garner Road and
the Kensington Metropolitan Park, Milford
Date of Construction: 1833 to 1837
Architectural Style: Greek revival
Builder or architect: Horace and Amelda Hubbard.
Date of Rebuilding and the addition of a second story: 1905
Use today: Very well maintained residence
State of Michigan Registry of Historic Sites: P907, Listed: November 15, 1995
State of Michigan Historical Marker: None erected
National Register of Historic Places: Listed June 3, 1996
Description prepared; February, 2016 by Ren Farley
http://detroit1701.org/Hubbard-Kesby%20Home.html

After 1825, settlers from the East Coast could reach Michigan because the newly completed Erie Canal facilitated getting across New York State. Gradually, the population of Michigan rose. Early in the 19th century, almost all Michigan residents lived along the lakeshore or on navigable rivers since there was no internal transportation system. Gradually, trails were cut across the state allowing the settlement of the interior.

Milford owes its existence to the availability of energy. The Pettibone Creek flows into the Huron River at the site where Milford is located. In 1832, Elizur and Stanley Ruggles erected the first building in the area—a sawmill. Two years later, Luman Fuller built a gristmill. Quickly thereafter, investors set up a tannery, a cooperage and a woolen mill. By 1835, the population was sufficiently large to merit a post office. The community continued to grow in the mid- and later-19th century, thanks to the availability of low cost and reliable water power.

In the late 1830s, the Hubbard Family built this attractive farm home that you see here. The second family to live in this home were John Kesby and Betsy Moore Kesby . Betsy Kesby had a son from a previous marriage whose name was John Moore. John Moore was active in the Democratic Party and served as mayor of Saginaw from 1861 to 1863. He ran for Congress in 1862 but the electorate spurned his bid, and he also lost a race for the Governor’s seat.

This structure has been listed on the National Historic Register since 1996 which means there is a great deal of documentation about its significance that comes with the property.

Recent Improvements

Historical character and charm lovingly maintained and restored. Has original doors, floors, and trim work throughout. New additions include a screened porch and downstairs bedroom/study, and 2-car garage.

Comments & Feedback

All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. OldHouses.com is not responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.

Listing No. 31501

Advanced Search
  Next # 1 of 7

Back to List

New Search

Nearest Listings

Like This Listing?

Contact the Agent directly.

Real Estate One-Milford

Conne Terova photo Conne Terova

Mobile: 248-318-7342
Office: (248) 684-4595 Ext. 400

Tell 'em you saw it on OldHouses.com!

Your Feedback

Help & Support.

Return to Top
Pinterest
[X]