Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Our iconic Victorian turret beckons you to a rare place of grand surroundings, simple pleasures and enriching experiences shaped by 128 years of history and hospitality. Ranked among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club Hotel is situated on an unhurried, unspoiled barrier island along Georgia’s spectacular Atlantic coast.
Scroll down for more information
The Annex was added to the Clubhouse in 1901 to provide private apartments for members and their guests and was the first building to have indoor plumbing. Today, it offers rooms and suites, some with a sun porch.
Its name means “without care.” Built in 1896 to offer apartment-style accommodations for Club members, the structure, next to the main Hotel and facing the river, now offers 24 guest rooms and suites along with two private meeting/hospitality rooms. Its wood floors, leaded art glass, stairways and skylights are all original.
Built in 1917 and located immediately adjacent to the main Hotel, Crane Cottage is the most expensive and elegant winter home ever built on Jekyll Island. Today, its classic Italianate design offers 13 guest rooms and suite joined by lush sunken garden, alfresco courtyard dining and intimate meeting space.
takes its name from the thick stands of Cherokee roses that originally surrounded this stately residence. The sense here, as was intended at its construction in 1904, is that of a private, river edge villa. Within its sumptuous interiors are 10 guest rooms and suite along with a unique meeting space. Cherokee is located next to Faith Chapel and near Crane Cottage.
Jekyll Island Club History
At the turn of the century, tycoons, politicians, and socialites flocked to Jekyll Island to revel in their own luxury and America’s burgeoning wealth. Our historic Georgia Club was described in the February 1904 issue of Munsey’s Magazine as “the richest, the most exclusive, the most inaccessible club in the world.” Its impressive members included such luminaries as J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Vincent Astor, Joseph Pulitzer, William K. Vanderbilt, and other recognizable names on the roster were Macy, Goodyear, and Gould.
Ground was broken for the Clubhouse in mid-August 1886, and the club officially opened its doors in January 1888. Designed by Charles Alexander of Chicago, the original clubhouse reflects the Queen Anne style, incorporating into its plan the turret which dominates the roof line, extensive verandas, bay windows, extended chimneys and, overall, an asymmetrical design. Handsome interior details include Ionic columns in the dining room, twelve- and fifteen-foot ceilings, oak wainscoting and other intricately detailed woodwork, as well as leaded art glass and ninety-three distinctively detailed fireplaces.
Archived in June, 2016
Comments & Feedback
All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. OldHouses.com is not responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.